We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Í ástandi rj​ú​punnar

by Stafrænn Hakon

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €6 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD version on Resonant Recordings

    Includes unlimited streaming of Í ástandi rjúpunnar via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      €10 EUR or more 


Solution 08:41
Iodine 10:15
Hvarf 05:36
Afglapi 09:59
Vofa 05:12
Kul 03:44
Skortur 04:18
Bréf 16:48


Release Info :

MUCH-ANTICIPATED second UK release from Stafraenn Hakon, following the success of "Skvettir Edik A Ref" in Autumn 2003 - an album that stood out and received unanimous acclaim purely on the strength of the music, which makes it a rare phenomenon in the current climate. Key to this was the inclusion of a track on the 10th Wire Tapper covermount - this alone prompted several emails to the label from many countries.

Though this is his second UK full-length, "I Astandi Rjpunnar" was actually recorded and self-released in Iceland before "Skvettir...", so this was originally his debut album in effect. Musically, the two albums inhabit the same territory - glacial, widescreen post-rock soundscapes, at once emotive, engaging and affecting - but if anything the music herein is more organic and mellow than on "Skvettir Edik A Ref".

SUPPORTERS of the first Stafraenn/Resonant release were numerous and widespread, including: The Wire, Comes With a Smile, SBN radio, XFM Dublin (who selected "Kofi" from "Skvettir..." as one of their favourite tracks of 2003), Brainwashed.com, Dusted (America) (who've selected SH as one of their 10 'Destined' artists to watch in 2004) - expect this release to elevate things to the next level…


released April 15, 2004

album was recorded, mixed and mastered at home. All songs by Stafrænn Hákon except HVÍTI HÁKARLINN & HVARF by Samuel White & Stafrænn Hákon.
Þröstur Sigurðsson played trombone on SOLUTION & IODINE.
Þóra Magga played flute on SOLUTION.


all rights reserved



Stafrænn Hakon Reykjavík, Iceland

The band´s current line up consists of guitarists Ólafur Josephsson
and Lárus Siguðsson, bass guitarist Árni Þór Árnason, drummer Róbert
Már Runólfsson and singer Magnús Freyr Gíslason. Eternal Horse is the
first Stafrænn Hákon album featuring the whole band collaborating on
the songs in their studio
... more

contact / help

Contact Stafrænn Hakon

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Stafrænn Hakon recommends:

If you like Stafrænn Hakon, you may also like: