more from
Darla Records
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Stafrænn Hakon

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $8 USD


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Limited edition of 1000 packaged in a deluxe, six panel, tri-fold "Old style" Stoughton Press 5" CD mini-jacket with satin finish.

    Catchy melodies and euphoric compositions constitute Stafrænn Hákon´s sixth album, Sanitas. The songs are yet intense and powerful and an adventurous continuation of Stafrænn Hákon´s last release, Gummi that Gaz – eta described as a wild ride the band again took the listener on. Stafrænn Hákon has through the last years been described as a mix of post-rock, lo-fi, ambient guitar & electronica which still holds true to some extent though he with each album takes a giant leap and keeps growing as a musician. On Sanitas, Stafrænn Hákon travels to the other side of the sound spectrum, gradually moving further from electronica, subtle compositions and soothing melodies towards more straight forward, rock orientated compositions which the artist himself often describes as Power-Ambient, currently only audible to left handed polar bears. On Sanitas, Stafrænn Hákon continues his explorative journey, this time by taking another daring but natural step towards more pop oriented and singalong melodies, something that a few years ago sounded unlikely for the ambient post-rock/electronica band.

    Stafrænn Hákon continues sliding a comic or surreal twist to the songtitles as in previous records, challenging the epic and dreamy connotations his music has always been ascribed with. Humour in combination with sincerity has long been some of Stafrænn Hákon´s driving forces, a twisted combination that reflects a personal nuance for those curious to dig deeper into the mindworld of the man behind the band.

    The songs on Sanitas build on certain elements from Stafrænn Hákon´s last album, Gummi, songs like “Second to none” with heavy guitars, layers of instruments and vocals that this time are further explored, thickened and hardened. Stafrænn also takes a step into a more darker place where elements of doom metal can be heard on the track “Val Kilmer” who was a huge inspiration for the recording sessions of Sanitas. The last album, Gummi, was described by Angry Ape as “a grandiose statement from an immensely talented musician. Rich in instrumentation and choc full of gorgeous, chiming melodies”, and “stuff so wonderfully blissed out, I'm not sure how it could be improved upon. This stuff is way beyond quality”, by Black and White magazine”. On Sanitas, the compositions move from subtle background music towards more aggressive and up front music with popular references and a faster tempo. The melodramatic atmosphere has stepped aside for upbeat songs with sloppy guitar solos and a sharp focus on the songs´ structures, again inviting the listener on a new and most rewarding journey.

    The Icelandic born Ólafur Josephsson has been recording music since 1999 and is the mind behind Stafrænn Hákon. Since his first release that created a hype around it´s lo-fi DIY production in 2001, Olafur has travelled from Iceland to Scotland, to Denmark with his mobile home studio and is to take another journey in the following months, resettling in Iceland where ...

    Samuel White and Olafur Josephsson continue their close collaboration – a childhood friendship, that developed into a creative partnership keeps growing and developing. Samuel composed 4 tracks on this record that are in line with his former compositions, but this time more upbeat. As the producer of Sanitas, Daniel Lovegrove has undeniably become a vital part of Stafrænn Hakon, with his intense drumming and extensive arrangements, including vocals on 2 tracks as well as playing bass. On Sanitas we see fantastic contributions from Lárus Sigurðsson (a member of the side-project Calder) with his rich acoustic instrumentations, as well as vocals from Minco Eggersman and Magnús Freyr Gíslason. Stafrænn Hákon has collaborated with a broad range of artists and musicians and was aired at the late John Peel´s radio sessions amongst others. He has released material on The U.S based indie label Secret Eye, Resonant Records, Awkward Silence, Chat Blanc, Japanese Nature Bliss, and now for the first time on Darla Records (U.S & EU) and Happy Prince (ASIA).

    Packaged in a deluxe, six panel, tri-fold "Old style" Stoughton Press CD mini-jacket.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Sanitas via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more
    ships out within 1 day
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD or more 


Emmer Green 06:58
Bright 03:41
Val Kilmer 06:00
Sanitas 06:38
approximating faces to those of people i have known incorporated into real life on relevance through countless songs and pages, or scenes like pieces of my own displayed to represent who and what as ornaments (simultaneously consciously both) a mesh of real and projected finding a mentor listening carefully made everything easy until i grew up and felt the covers slipping off oblivious of lines that I was meant to have crossed less dependence more development but circumstantial knowledge is all that can really be ingrained appreciation without context is not an existence finding a mentor listening carefully
Temporality 03:52
The Jerker 05:46


Icelanders Stafrænn Hákon move toward Rock described as Power-Ambient, currently only audible to left handed polar bears. A daring but natural step with pop singalong melodies, which may sound unlikely for the ambient post-rock/electronica band.


released February 22, 2010

Stafrænn Hákon on this album:
Olafur Josephsson: Guitars and guitar treatments, pianos, percussion, harmonium, bells, bass, keyboards, banjo, acoustic guitars.

Daniel Lovegrove: Bass, Drums, guitar, synths, harmonium, vocals on Post & Unwind tender dog!

Samuel White: guitar on Sanitas.
Lárus Sigurðsson: acoustic instruments.

Minco Eggersman: vocals on Second to none, Sanitas & Temporailty.

Magnús Freyr: vocals on Emmer Green & Provisional Meat.

Þórður Hermannsson: Cello on Bright and Second to none.

Rob: Backing Vocals & Trombone.

Ingibjörg Sigurjónsdóttir: piano on Bright.


all rights reserved



Stafrænn Hakon Reykjavík, Iceland

The band´s current line up consists of guitarists Ólafur Josephsson
and Lárus Siguðsson, bass guitarist Árni Þór Árnason, drummer Róbert
Már Runólfsson and singer Magnús Freyr Gíslason. Eternal Horse is the
first Stafrænn Hákon album featuring the whole band collaborating on
the songs in their studio
... more

contact / help

Contact Stafrænn Hakon

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Stafrænn Hakon recommends:

If you like Stafrænn Hakon, you may also like: